skip to content

Department of Physics

The Cavendish Laboratory

 Annual Thesis Prizes for Postgraduate Students

The Abdus Salam Prize for Postgraduate Student Research has been donated to the Department to be presented to a Research Student at the Cavendish. It is awarded annually to recognise outstanding work by PhD students, on the basis of a peer-reviewed paper reporting research undertaken by the student at the Cavendish.

Since the academic year 2019-20 the Cavendish recognises the full breadth of work in the Department each year. Normally, three prizes are given for submissions in computational, experimental and theoretical physics. The contributions of the students are assessed by members of the Postgraduate Education Committee. The prize winners present their award winning work during the annual postgraduate student conference usually held at the end of Michaelmas term (November) in each academic year.

Each prize comes with a cheque of 500 pounds. For the Abdus Salam Prize the money is donated by the Ahmadiyya Muslim Youth Association UK. The Cavendish Prizes are covered by the Head of Department.

Prizewinners 2023-24

Abdus Salam Prize

Lena Dogra (Atomic, Mesoscopic and Optical Physics) -  Nature

Cavendish Prize in Experimental Physics

Sebastian Gorgon (Optoelectronics) -  Nature

Cavendish Prize in Theoretical Physics

Thomas Gessey-Jones (Astrophysics) - Oxford Academic (

Read more about the 2023-24 winners and their research projects


Prizewinners 2022-23

Abdus Salam Prize in Computational Physics

Siyu Chen (TCM Group) - Physical Review B

Cavendish Prize in Experimental Physics

Arjun Ashoka (OE) - Nature Communications

Cavendish Prize in Experimental Physics

Rakesh Arul (NP) - Light:Science and Applications

Cavendish Prize in Theoretical Physics

Jonathan Nilsson Hallén (TCM) - Preprint


Prizewinners 2021-22

Abdus Salam Prize in Theoretical Physics

William Barker (AP) - Physical Review D

Cavendish Prize in Experimental Physics

Alice Merryweather (OE) - Nature

Cavendish Prize in Computational Physics

Bo Peng (TCM) - Science Advances

Prizewinners 2020-21

Abdus Salam Prize in Experimental Physics

Sascha Feldmann (OE) - Nature Photonics

Cavendish Prize in Theoretical Physics

Clara Wanjura (TCM) - Nature Communications

Cavendish Prize in Computational Physics

Antonios Alvertis (OE) - Physical Review B

Prizewinners 2019-20

Abdus Salam Prize in Theoretical Physics

Andrea Pizzi (TCM) - Physical Review Letters

Cavendish Prize in Experimental Physics

Raj Pandya (OE) - ACS Nano

Cavendish Prize in Computational Physics

Herschel Chawdhry (HEP) - Physical Review D

Prizewinners Abdus Salam Prize 2008-2019

2018-19 Christoph Eigen
2017-18 Dedalo Sanz Hernandez
2016-17 Felix Benz
Kerstin Gopfrich
2015-16 David Sutherland
2014-15 Carsten Schulte
2013-14 Alexander Gaunt
2012-13 Stuart Moulder
2011-12 Naaman Tammuz
2010-11 Lars Boyde
2009-10 Stefan Palzer
Petra Vertes
2009-10 Gareth Conduit
2008-09 Tuomas Knowles

Further information is available from the