skip to content

Department of Physics

The Cavendish Laboratory


Group website:

Professor of Theoretical Physics
+44 (0)1223 337258
Professor Claudio  Castelnovo
University Professor of Theoretical Physics
Fellow, Trinity College
+44 (0)1223 337433
Royal Society University Research Fellow
Professor Nigel  Cooper
Deputy Head of Department for Research Strategy
Professor of Theoretical Physics
Fellow of Pembroke College
+44 (0)1223 765127
Emeritus Professor
+44 (0)1223 768151
Emeritus Professor
+44 (0)1223 337260
Professor David  Khmelnitskii
Emeritus Professor of The Theory of Condensed Matter
Professor Richard  Needs
Emeritus Professor of Theoretical Physics
Professorial Fellow of Robinson College
+44 (0)1223 337384
Professor Mike  Payne
Professor of Computational Physics
Fellow of Pembroke College
FRS, HonFInstP
+44 (0)1223 337381
Professor Ben  Simons
Herchel Smith Professor of Physics
Fellow of St John's College
+44 (0)1223 337253
Director of Research
Head of Cellular Genetics, Wellcome Sanger Institute
+44 (0)1223 337253