skip to content

Department of Physics

The Cavendish Laboratory


Suchitra holds an MS and PhD in Applied Physics from Stanford University, and an MBA from the Indian Institute of Management (Ahmedabad). She moved to the University of Cambridge as a Junior Research Fellow in Physics at Trinity College. After a period as a Royal Society University Research Fellow and University Lecturer in Physics at the Cavendish Laboratory, she was promoted to a Readership in Physics in 2017 and Professorship in Physics in 2020. Suchitra was named as one of thirty 'Exceptional Young Scientists' by the World Economic Forum in 2013 and one of the top ten 'Next big names in Physics' by the Financial Times. She received the L'Oreal-UNESCO fellowship for women in science in 2013, among other awards including the Lee-Osheroff-Richardson Prize (2007); Young Scientist Medal in Magnetism (2012); Moseley Medal (2012); Philip Leverhulme Prize (2015); and Brian Pippard Prize (2015).


Suchitra creates and studies interesting quantum materials - often under extreme conditions such as very high magnetic fields, enormous pressures, and very low temperatures - with a view to discovering unusual phases of matter. Materials families she studies include novel magnets and unconventional temperature superconductors - which have the exciting property of transporting electricity with no energy loss. Read more about Suchitra’s research here:


Key publications: 

M. Hartstein, W. H. Toews, Y.-T. Hsu, B. Zeng, X. Chen, M. Ciomaga Hatnean, Q. R. Zhang, S. Nakamura, A. S. Padgett, G. Rodway-Gant, J. Berk, M. K. Kingston, G. H. Zhang, M. K. Chan, S. Yamashita, T. Sakakibara, Y. Takano, J.-H. Park, L. Balicas, N. Harrison, N. Shitsevalova, G. Balakrishnan, G. G. Lonzarich, R. W. Hill, M. Sutherland & Suchitra E. Sebastian, "Fermi surface in the absence of a Fermi liquid in the Kondo insulator SmB6". Nature Physics 14, 166–172 (2018).

B. S. Tan, N. Harrison, Z. Zhu, F. F. Balakirev, B. J. Ramshaw, A. Srivastava, S. A. Sabok, B. Dabrowski, G. G. Lonzarich, and Suchitra E. Sebastian, "Fragile charge order in the non-superconducting ground state of the underdoped high temperature superconductors". Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 112, 31 (2015).

B. S. Tan, Y. -T. Hsu, B. Zeng, M. Ciomaga Hatnean, N. Harrison, Z. Zhu, M. Hartstein, M. Kiourlappou, A. Srivastava, M. D. Johannes, T. P. Murphy, J. -H. Park, L. Balicas, G. G. Lonzarich, G. Balakrishnan, Suchitra E. Sebastian, “Unconventional Fermi surface in an insulator”. Science 349, 287 (2015).

B. J. Ramshaw, S. E. Sebastian, R. D. McDonald, James Day, B. S. Tan, Z. Zhu, J. B. Betts, Ruixing Liang, D. A. Bonn, W. N. Hardy, and N. Harrison, “Quasiparticle mass enhancement approaching optimal doping in a high-Tc superconductor”. Science 348, 317 (2015).

Suchitra E. Sebastian, N. Harrison, F. F. Balakirev, M. M. Altarawneh, P. A. Goddard, Ruixing Liang, D. A. Bonn, W. N. Hardy & G. G. Lonzarich, “Normal-state nodal electronic structure in underdoped high-Tc copper oxides”. Nature 511, 61 (2014).

Suchitra E. Sebastian, Neil Harrison and Gilbert G. Lonzarich, "Towards resolution of the Fermi surface in underdoped high-Tc superconductors". Reports on Progress in Physics 75, 102501 (2012).

P. L. Alireza, Y. T. C. Ko, J. Gillett, C. M. Petrone, J. M. Cole, G. G. Lonzarich, and S. E. Sebastian, "Superconductivity up to 29 K in SrFe2As2 and BaFe2As2 at high pressures". Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter 21(1) 012208 (2009).

S. E. Sebastian, N. Harrison, E. Palm, T. P. Murphy, C. H. Mielke, R. Liang, D. A. Bonn, W. N. Hardy, and G. G. Lonzarich, "A multi-component Fermi surface in the vortex state of an underdoped high-Tc superconductor". Nature 454(7201) 200-203 (2008).

S. E. Sebastian, N. Harrison, P. Sengupta, C. D. Batista, S. Francoual, E. Palm, T. Murphy, N. Marcano, H. A. Dabkowska, and B. D. Gaulin, "Fractalization drives crystalline states in a frustrated spin system". Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 105(51) 20157-20160 (2008).

S. E. Sebastian, N. Harrison, C. D. Batista, L. Balicas, M. Jaime, P. A Sharma, N. Kawashima, and I. R. Fisher, "Dimensional reduction at a quantum critical point". Nature 441(7093) 617-620 (2006).