skip to primary navigationskip to content

Prizewinners Dinner 2014

last modified Oct 28, 2014 12:04 PM

The Cavendish Laboratory's Annual Prizewinner's Dinner was held at Peterhouse on Friday 24th October 2014, at which Prof Andy Parker, Head of Department  presented the following current students and recent graduates with their prize certificates:-

Miss Suna Zekioglu (Emmanuel), the NST Physics IA Prize

Miss Tamara Sumarac (Trinity), the NST Physics IB (A) Prize

Mr Georgios Panagopoulos (Trinity), the NST Physics IB (B) Prize

Mr Geoff Penington (Jesus), the Part II Hartree & Clerk Maxwell Prize 

Mr Jedrzej Wieteska (Trinity Hall) and Mr Christopher Parmee (Robinson) were jointly awarded the Amalendu Dev Memorial Prize for the best Part II Research Reviews.

Mr Daniel Rowlands (Selwyn), Mr Benedikt Schoenhense (St Johns) and Mr Jonathan Burton (Peterhouse) were awarded BP Nevill Mott Prizes. These prizes were presented by Dr Ross Hartley and Dr Michael Taplin representing BP.

Mr Tom Cridge (Christ's), the Cavendish Laboratory Part III Prize

Mr Alan Bowman (Gonville & Caius), the Microsoft Research Award for the most novel scientific results relying on the use of computers.

Mr Thomas Nutz (Wolfson), the Tessella Prize for Software awarded to the student who made the most effective use of software in their final year Physics project. This was presented by Dr Werner Schulz  representing Tessella.

Mr Bhaskaran Nair (Trinity), the MASt Prize.

Many congratulations to all of the above.