skip to primary navigationskip to content

2014 Institute of Physics Awards

last modified Jul 01, 2014 11:57 AM

We are pleased to announce that  three members of the Department have received prestigious awards from the Institute of Physics.

Swan Medal and prize
Professor Michael Payne
For the development of computational techniques that have revolutionised materials design and facilitated the industrial application of quantum mechanical simulations

Franklin Medal and Prize
Professor Benjamin Simons
For the application of non-equilibrium statistical mechanic to provide fundamental new insights into the mechanisms that regulate stem cell behaviour in tissue maintenance and disease.

Paterson Medal and Prize
Dr Sarah Bohndiek
For her remarkable work in developing advanced molecular imaging techniques and applying them to address questions at the interface of physics, biology and medicine.