skip to primary navigationskip to content

Safety Committee and Specialists

Physics Department Specialist Advisers


Please suffix all the email addresses as seen with

Department Safety Officer

The Department Safety officer is to be consulted on any general matter – including Health and Safety Law, Risk Management, Occupational Health, Safety Technology, Machinery, Noise, Fire, Accident Investigation, Ionising Radiation, Chemical Waste Disposal, and Environmental Issues

Ms Saba Alai sa792 room 220 telephone 37397

Chemical Safety and COSHH

Mr Suresh Mistry sm380 room 244 telephone 37010

Electrical Safety

Electronics safety/Portable Appliance Testing

Mr Huw Prytherch hp373 room 401  telephone 37325

Electrical Plant/Infrastructure/Maintenance

Mr Alan Turner adt20 room 129 telephone 37404

Explosives Safety

Dr David Williamson dmw28 "at" hermes room 427B telephone 37205

Cryogenic Gases Safety

Mr Dan Cross dlc23 room 387 telephone 37488

Radiation Protection Supervisor

Dr Bart Hommels hommels@hep.phy room 846 telephone 37237
Ms Saba Alai sa792 room 220 telephone 37397

Laser Safety Officer

Mr Richard Gymer rwg11 room K27 telephone 37264

Biological Safety Officer

Dr Sarah Bohndiek seb53 room 238 telephone 37267


Department Safety Committee



Dr John Ellis je102 room 427A telephone 37410


Name e-mail Room Telephone Representing
Ms Saba Alai sa792 220 37397 Safety Officer, RPS
Dr Sarah Bohndiek seb53 238 37267 Biological Safety Officer
Dr Richard Bowman rwb27 182A 37446 Nanophotonics (NP)
Mr Michael Crane crane@mrao 825 66463 Quantom Sensors (QS)
Mr Dan Cross dlc23 387 37488 Liquid gases
Mr Harry Druiff hwd20 171/179 37405 Classes
Dr Sian Dutton sed33 503 64159 Quantum Matter (QM)
Dr Andy Faulkner ajf"at"mrao 905 37303 Astrophysics (AP)
Dr Lucy Goff lg461 337 37387 Semiconductor Physics (SP)
Mr Richard Gymer rwg11 K27 37264 Optoelectronics (OE)/Laser Safety Officer
Mrs Sue Gymer sg478 318 37044 Surface, Microstructure and Fracture (SMF) /first aiders
Dr Andy Irvine aci20 304A 37473 Thin Film Magnetism (TFM) 
Dr Andy Jardine apj24 427B 37207 Surface, Microstructure and Fracture (SMF)
Dr Rhodri Mansell rm353 316B 46905 Thin Film Magnetism (TFM)
Mr Suresh Mistry sm380 244


Chemical Safety/Biological and Soft Systems (BSS)

Mrs Louise Mortimer and Mrs Alison Murfin

admin@csc 905



Centre for Scientific Computing (CSC)
Mr Peter Norman pmn22 608C 60941 Laboratory Superintendent
Mr Huw Prytherch hp373 401 37325 Electronics workshop
Mr John Rickard jjr1001 'at' hermes 355 37212 Trade Unions
Dr Ulrich Schneider uws20 Maxwell 39432 Atomic, Mesoscopic and Optical Physics (AMOP)
Prof Ben Simons bds10 539 37253 Theory of Condensed Matter (TCM)
Mr Andrew Snushall ajs72 Admin office 60943 Administration
Mr Chris Summerfield cws21 608C 60941 Workshops
Mr Alan Turner adt20 129 37404 Maintenance

Mr Jose Velazquez-Garcia


Molecular Engineering (MolE)
Vacancy Microelectronics

This page was last updated on 22 May 2015